Crickets, grasshoppers and locusts are very similar and muslims believe that some grasshoppers were eaten by the Prophet. Therefore there is a common belief that cricket flour can be certified halal and they are not harar (forbidden, in the islamic law). There are different authorities deciding what is halal and what’s not, but the Indonesian one, LPPOM MUI, is among the most important and they says that cricket flour is OK with them. Proof of this is the fatwa Kep-139/MUI/IV/2000 from almost twenty years ago. It declares that “Breeding cricket for its benefits (including medicine, cosmetics, eating) is allowed (Mubah/Halal) as long as it is not harmful to humans”.

 

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?